Wren's Ratty Oval

Wren
Hey, KEEVIIN!!!

Wren's Ratty Oval

Postby Wren » Mon Apr 02, 2012 9:35 am

My main goal this summer is to get my bus on the road. It’s waiting for some KCW love before I can do much. So in the meantime I‘d like to get this thing running and driving. Don’t think I have a chance of winning but why not enter. Car is a Dec 56 Oval Beetle. This is the first Type one I’ve ever had so it’s all new to me. I’m feeling pretty poor at this point in my life and saving money for the bus project so this is going to be a very low budget build for now. The Beetle is super solid, no rust! The only body damage is in the front fenders. My plan is to try and hammer out the fenders, fix wiring, lights, decklid, brakes, small amount of welding, and get an engine in. Hope to have it running by the end of April. Not a big project but I’m a shitty mechanic so it will be a challenge for me. I’d like to do it all myself, no taking it down to Franz for help. Going to leave it stock height for some off road action. The inside paint is all original. The outside paint is also original but was painted over a long time ago with a darker blue. I’d like to try and buff off the dark blue and get it back to original paint. I’ve wanted a ratty VW for a while and this one has some cool patina.

I'm looking for cheap ass parts as well. Remmber I'm on a budget. Need -

-Ratty deck lid
-Turn signal front lights
-Tail lights
-steering wheel

Jobe
what flip?

Postby Jobe » Mon Apr 02, 2012 10:51 am

Wren, I have a W lid. Im pretty sure its the same color too. I was planning on using on that grey 59' i painted. But it looks like you need it worse. Let me know if you want to check it out.
Big belly Hoes

Cuba

Postby Cuba » Mon Apr 02, 2012 6:08 pm

Paint is going to look sick buffed out... =P~

Franz

Postby Franz » Mon Apr 02, 2012 8:10 pm

Thats a prime beetle-truck conversion canidate! :^o